Is it a Remington-made receiver?

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Rifles
Don Eigler

Is it a Remington-made receiver?

Post by Don Eigler »

Greetings,

We’ve had an RB in my family since 1958 but no one has paid any attention to it, that is, until now. I’m in the midst of trying to learn about RBs, their history, and the history specific to our RB. My first stop was George Layman’s book, which I greatly enjoyed and which has helped me piece together a lot, but many questions remain. I thought perhaps some of you might be kind enough to help out.

I’m a newbie to this forum and since this is my first posting, I’ll limit myself to just one question: Is there a definitive way of telling if an RB receiver was manufactured by Remington in the United States? A somewhat less expansive question is whether there is a definitive way of telling whether my RB receiver was manufactured by Remington.

Some aspects of the receiver and action of my RB are:
1) Long lower tang with wood screw
2) No steps on the sides of the receiver
3) Concave center-fire breechblock
4) Plate added to breechblock to give it "ears"
5) Sliding left-side extractor with bevel on the side facing the muzzle
6) Extractor retaining screw on the left side of the receiver
7) Plugged hole at the front of the trigger guard where other RBs have a ring for attaching a sling
8) Letter 'C' stamped on the small plate that gives the breechblock its "ears" ( just to the left side of the hole for the firing pin
9) Letter 'C' stamped on the center-line of the bottom of the receiver just behind where the forestock joins to the receiver
10 For what it's worth: the letter 'C' stamped on the rear sling attachment point
10) The top surface of the upper tang has a two-line stamping:
Top Line : REMINGTONS ILION N.Y. U.S.A.
Bottom Line: PAT. MAY 3D NOV. 15TH 1864 APRIL 17TH 1866
11) The left surfaces of the upper and lower tangs are stamped with the letter 'C'