Model 51 .32ACP

Topics related to Post - 1898 Remington Pistols
lbanks

Model 51 .32ACP

Post by lbanks »

Happy Holidays Everyone! I am a total newbie to this forum, and have reviewed the posts that appeared to be relevant to my interests...all related to the Model 51, but have not seen the information that I am seeking. I purchased my Model 51 back in the early 80's, and have fired less than 100 rounds during the time owned. I have worked out a couple of issues with the gun (at least marginally), e.g. double feed and ejection issues, by judicious filing of the internal slide retainer (maybe not the correct terminology), the (original) ejector (a remanufactured ejector I purchased was apparently not milled properly and would not work "out of the box"), and some rough edges at the top of the magazine feed area. . I have communicated with a gunsmith in a neighboring state who seems to be of the opinion that the gun is simply not reliable, nor are quality remanufactured parts available to restore the gun for reliable functioning. I respect the opinion, but am highly disappointed :( . I love my Model 51, and have not been able to experience a modern handgun of any caliber that "feels" as good in my hand. Does anyone know of a gunsmith who might specialize in this model and have the confidence to refurbish as necessary to allow me to use my "pick of the litter" as my primary CCW? Also, I would be interested to know the most "effective" ammo that any other 51 owners have opinions on...my choice has been the Fiocchi FMJ and/or the Federal Premium, Personal Defense, Hyda-Shok JHP.

Thanks in advance for anyone taking the time to consider my queries.

Ladds Banks
Jay Huber
Site Admin

Re: Model 51 .32ACP

Post by Jay Huber »

Are yo using an original factory magazine? I have found these guns often have a feeding problem with an after market magazine like KKK' Jay Huber RSA
lbanks

Post by lbanks »