Remington 1858 New Model

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Pistols
Groucho101

Remington 1858 New Model

Post by Groucho101 »

Acquired one of these pieces of history recently and curious for more information concerning when it left the factory and the destination. Search has revealed it is a December of 1863 weapon.
It appears a wealth of info on this site and possibly someone can point me in the correct direction to seek further education on the subject matter.
I'm new to this portion of history as most of my collection concerns the 20th century.
Would most certainly appreciated any help in any way and consequently, I may be of service in reference to 20th century martial arms.
Photos enclosed of the subject.
Respectfully, GZH
Attachments
1858 New Model
1858 New Model
IMG_5729[1].JPG (4.15 MiB) Viewed 1330 times
1858 New Model
1858 New Model
IMG_5732[1].JPG (4.1 MiB) Viewed 1330 times
1858 New Model
1858 New Model
IMG_5731[2].JPG (4.05 MiB) Viewed 1330 times
1858 New Model
1858 New Model
IMG_5726[1].JPG (4.45 MiB) Viewed 1330 times
1858 New Model
1858 New Model
IMG_5730[1].JPG (4 MiB) Viewed 1330 times
1858 New Model
1858 New Model
IMG_5727[1].JPG (3.84 MiB) Viewed 1330 times
1858 New Model
1858 New Model
IMG_5725[1].JPG (6.54 MiB) Viewed 1330 times
Patbar

Re: Remington 1858 New Model

Post by Patbar »

Boy, this gun is in an absolutely beautiful condition !! What's more, it doesn't seem to have been reblued !

I really wonder how a Remington New Model Army manufactured in 1863 and having military inspection marks stayed unfired right in the middle of the civil war...
Groucho101

Post by Groucho101 »

My desire is someone can help with more info on these fine pieces of history.
Many thanks for the reply.
Respectfully, GZH
gmaque

Post by gmaque »