Remington 1891/1901

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Pistols
Tigertrout

Remington 1891/1901

Post by Tigertrout »

Hello experts.....!

A newbie here looking for your expert help in identifying a pistol I just picked up here in Canada.
It has a number of contradicting characteristics, some specific to an 1891 and some to a 1901.
Hopefully I can point you to some detailed pics on my personal website for your review and input.
Thank you in advance, the pistol is the second item down on page 1 of my site.
it is in 22 caliber rimfire.

https://oldguns.ca/virtual-museum-1

if this does not work, i will try something different.
aardq

Re: Remington 1891/1901

Post by aardq »

Hi Tigertrout,

Happy New Year!!

My reply is based of the book, “Remington Rolling Block Pistols”. by Jerry Landskron, and observation of your photos. It does get a bit lengthy.

The first hing that you need to know is that ALL Rolling Block Pistol frames were made by E. Remington & Sons, prior to their bankruptcy sale in 1888. The model name or designation is based of when the guns were assembled, on the frames made before 1888. Therefore in CA and the US, all of these pistols are antique, not modern.

Specifically, your pistol is marked “Remingtons,” a mark used only by E. Remington & Sons, and your frame is marked with the letters P and S. This mark was used by Ordnance Inspector Charles Stickney and stands for “Proved” and “Stickney,” and was used only on the Model 1871 Army models he accepted for the US Ordinance Dept.

The most distinguishing feature of the Model 1901 is the thumb piece on the breech block, which is “bent” to the right 90 degrees. Only the 1901 models have this feature. Another feature is that all 1891 and all 1901 models have a half octagon, half round barrels.