Researching SN and info for my 1st purchase

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Pistols
Johnny676767

Researching SN and info for my 1st purchase

Post by Johnny676767 »

Hello,

This is my first post.

I am new to gun collecting, but I am focusing on Civil War era items. I recently purchased my first musket but am looking for a revolver. I decided I would like a Remington New Model Army. I think I found a good candidate but would appreciate any advice you might have.

It’s for sale on a dealer’s website, so I won’t post the link in case that’s not allowed. This is the information I have:

It has the 1858 patent marking with New-Model across the top of the barrel.
It is marked with either a C and/or W on the bottom of the grips, on the trigger guard and on the frame near the cylinder. It also has the cartouche on the left grip - it’s BH. Serial number is listed as 60803. It’s not in the pictures, so I don’t know location.

By the way, I new to look for these markings because of the other posts I read on this website. So, thanks already! I would appreciate any information, especially regarding manufacture date and issuance.

Thank you
aardq

Re: Researching SN and info for my 1st purchase

Post by aardq »

Hi Johnny,

Welcome to the wacky world of Remingtons! In the world of gun collecting, condition is everything. You're always better off to buy an 80% gun than a 60% one. Having said that, buy what you like, in the best condition that you can afford.

Your NMA was made in March 1864. The BH cartouche is the final acceptance stamp for the gun. BH was Benjamin Hannis, who was a principal sub-inspector.