New to the form question about 1894 doubles

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Shotguns
Don Doubles

New to the form question about 1894 doubles

Post by Don Doubles »

I'm new to the form but not to Remington 1894. I'm looking to see how many of you have a 12 gauge
built on the small 16 gauge frame, I know of only 2, the one I have and one other, they are both A models.
Both of these A model are in the 12xxxx number range

Don
Researcher

Re: New to the form question about 1894 doubles

Post by Researcher »

With no surviving records, the number built on the lighter frame is impossible to know. I've handled a goodly number over the last 50 years, but I've never owned one. I've never had my hands on one in really high condition. One could postulate that with the North American nimrods tendency to use the heaviest loads available, that the survival rate of these lighter weight guns is lower than the heavier guns.
Last edited by Researcher on Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
dieNusse1

Post by dieNusse1 »

I had a question about that as well. I tried to post it on the forum several days ago but it seems to have not gone through.

Anyway, I have several '94's and 1900's - all 12's. One 1900 (KED - 1910 production) is smaller than the rest - about 1/8" narrower across both the water table and bolsters. It also weighs about a pound less.

In addition, it has a diamond shaped spacer(?) on the hammer pivot pin which is well made and appears to be original to the gun. This part is not shown on any parts listing that I've ever seen.

It's nice and tight and has been my favorite gun and has brought home the meat over the years. I've always shot BP but I think I'l load up some low pressure SP (<5000 psi) rounds and give that a try. Beats my 870 in all respects.