Hello from Wisconsin

Sign the guestbook
BGRooster1

Hello from Wisconsin

Post by BGRooster1 »

Hello fellow Remington fans,glad to be here.
I was on-line searching for information on the New Model Police 5-shot revolver. Stumbled upon this forum and am hoping to learn about Remington revolvers especially .
First question and why I was searching on the web, has to do with an unusual finish on a New Model Police I looked at at a gunshow. Sort of a copper color . My thought is maybe a nickle plated frame that lost it's nickle ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Better to ask forgiveness.Than beg permission.
DavidFagan

Re: Hello from Wisconsin

Post by DavidFagan »

I think it's only Gold that takes multiple finishes, this is just a bad refinish, if the edges of the barrel are not sharp it's a huge red flag.
David J. Fagan
The Silicon Sorcerer
BGRooster1

Post by BGRooster1 »

Please explain why it would be a red flag. I am new to originals and determining value. As far as I know, no one has made a reproduction of this model. I am familiar with the other size frames of Remington revolvers.
Thanks for your thoughts on the finish. I am sure you are correct and is what I was thinking.Could it be like an old Winchester 1894? They had a few years that the finish would look something like this after time.
It is otherwise in good condition, not excellent just good . The guy is taking offers and would like to get something in the three hundred dollar range.
DavidFagan

Post by DavidFagan »

Where the flat edges meet is just that, Remington never buffed or smoothed them, if they are not sharp the barrel has been buffed you have to buff a barrel to refinish it. Now they certainly wear but that doesn't leave the finish intact ;)
David J. Fagan
The Silicon Sorcerer
BGRooster1

Post by BGRooster1 »

OK.Now I understand what you mean to look for.The finish is to nice,as in smoothly applied, to not be a refinish.