original metal finish on 1923-1935 Model 14 pump rifles?

Topics related to Post - 1898 Remington Rifles
Adam Lee

original metal finish on 1923-1935 Model 14 pump rifles?

Post by Adam Lee »

Guys,

I recently picked up a nice 1923 date Model 14 (via serial number - 87021) that appears to have been factory redone a few years later, via the barrel stamp - DY3. I think that means Sep. 1930.

It has what I can only describe as a phosphate or parkerized grey-blue finish. Appears to have been this way for some time, due to observed metal when I take it apart.
Another interesting thing, it has a brass/metal script cap on the bottom of the pistol grip, like the owner's initials, but I can't really decode the font yet. Might be RCY but it's hard for me to interpret. That's the only other unique thing I see - besides my question on the finish. It's not D&T'ed so that's great. Bore is really nice.

Ideas? I am brand new to the 14's. This one is a .32 Rem, interestingly the forearm grip (pump handle) is embossed "35" on the back face.

Adam
Wherever you go, there you are!
35Rem

Re: original metal finish on 1923-1935 Model 14 pump rifles?

Post by 35Rem »

I have no knowledge of Remington ever doing anything but a polished blue on these. The grip cap sounds like a personal addition, also.
Adam Lee

Post by Adam Lee »

35Rem wrote:I have no knowledge of Remington ever doing anything but a polished blue on these. The grip cap sounds like a personal addition, also.
I appreciate your comments - I agree, that the finish was redone. What I was not too sure about was how recently that occurred, since the rifle had come from an older gentleman's collection at a local auction; and the only "history" I learned was that he had owned it a long time.
If this gentleman had been perhaps the second owner of the gun, perhaps a handed-down family firearm, I suspect due to the good condition it may have been refinished locally and not at the factory.