MODEL 14 & 141 RELOADING/CRIMPING / Bulletin #9

Topics related to Post - 1898 Remington Rifles
nambujim

MODEL 14 & 141 RELOADING/CRIMPING / Bulletin #9

Post by nambujim »

I have been reloading since I was ten years old and have been loading all of the calibers for these rifles for in excess of 30 years, that doesn't make me smart and it surely doesn't make me an authority.

I have been using Redding factory crimp style dies on both the 44-40 & 38-40 for use in the Model 14-1/2 for some time but had yet to try something similar with the rifle calibers. Redding dies give a good crimp, they refer to it as a "profile" crimp but let us be honest in that the slam/banging cartridges take going through these old rifles is like none other.

So just a short time back I went looking for a "factory crimp" die that would work on "each" of the rifle calibers but found that while Lee made one for the 30-30 (can be used for the .30 Remington) and indeed do make one for the .35 Remington, nothing was available for the .25 or .32 Remington.

When I come to a dead end I email my two long suffering friends (Tom Hemphill & Ken Blauch) who in addition to being experienced hunters, are experienced in reloading these calibers, are authorities in their own right on these rifles, and try to keep me honest.

Hemphill advised he has been using Lee "factory crimp" dies on all the rifle calibers for years to which I respond "how can that be, they don't make them". Tom's exact response was "you've been saying for years that Ken is twice as smart as us, he figured it out years ago".

Like the solution to many problems the answer was hiding from me in plain sight, Ken being a machinist by trade in addition to being bloody darn smart realized the available Lee dies had some latitude. The solution is that you can also use the 30-30 die on the .32 Remington and the .243 die on the .25 Remington and both Ken and Tom have been doing it for years...damn them!