Rolling Block No.1 sporter

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Rifles
steveborst

Rolling Block No.1 sporter

Post by steveborst »

I am new to the Remington Society forum.
I have just recieved a rifle that I believe to be a Remington Rolling Block No. 1 Sporter.
I am not certain what I have as there are no markings on the rifle identifying it as a Remington. I have matched it to pictures and I am quite sure it is however. The only markings on this rifle are the patent numbers on the left front of the side of the reciever. The serial number appears on the back of the lower tang. The number is 4485. I can find no numbers on the barrel that identify what the caliber is.
The barrel is octogon and is 26 inches long. The rifle is all original and is certainly an 1800's vintage gun.
I hope someone can give me some insight as to what this rifle is.

Thanks-Steve
JReed

Re: Rolling Block No.1 sporter

Post by JReed »

What are the Pat dates? Did I read you right that the Pat info is not on the tang but on the reciever? I know some times the cal is on the barrel under the forend.
Semper Fidelis
Yellowhouse

Post by Yellowhouse »

Does the barrel have E. Remington & Sons or Remington Arms stamped on the top flat. If not, its probably a replacement.
marlinman93

Post by marlinman93 »

Look just in front of the forearm on the bottom flat for the caliber marking.
26" is an unusually short barrel for a #1 Sporter, but could be factory special order. Measure the thickness of the receiver side to side with dial calipers and post the measurement here. Not huge differences between a #1 and a #1 1/2 to the untrained eye, but the dimension will tell the story.
One other thing! Is the lower tang much longer than the upper tang, or the same length?-Vall
steveborst

Post by steveborst »

The patent dates are as follows:May 3 1864, May-June11, Dec 1, 1872, Sept 1872.
The patent numbers appear on the left front side of the reciever.
There is no number on the bottom of the barrel.