Remington RB No 1 Creedmoor

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Rifles
Fogman01

Remington RB No 1 Creedmoor

Post by Fogman01 »

New to this forum - don't have experience with Remington Rolling blocks - I have some Shiloh Sharps I like a lot and I am just beginning to shoot at some BPCR matches. I have been loading and shooting black powder for a couple of years and now I want to expand the silhouette target shooting to mid and long range shooting. I love the Sharps, but I would consider expanding my interest to any rifle used in Creedmoor matches. The rolling block is a candidate.

I am looking to find an original Creedmoor rifle in shootable condition. The Sharps originals are out of my price range but an original rolling block Creedmoor may not be. I was looking at a couple Remington Rolling Block No 1 Creedmoors in excellent condition I saw on Guns International. These seem to have everything even the little wedge piece in the bottom of the pistol grip and the original sights. But I have looked at past auctions of Julia's and some other places and it would appear that $6500+ is a bit high for this model. What caliber is "44S"? Looking at other No 1's it appears to mean 44-77. But maybe 44-90???? Bottle neck - straight? I load for a 44-77 BN for a Shiloh - is it the same?
And what would be a range for the price of Remington rolling block No 1 Creedmoor?

Thanks for any help.
marlinman93

Re: Remington RB No 1 Creedmoor

Post by marlinman93 »

Yes, the "44S" is the .44-77 SBN. In Creedmoor rifles the cartridge was loaded with 90 grains of powder and referred to as the .44-90 Remington-Sharps Bottleneck, as both companies used the same caliber during the first Creedmoor match.
In my opinion, if you saw an original Remington Creedmoor for $6500 in above average shape, you should jump on it quickly! I can't remember seeing one that reasonable in quite a long time!