Improving accuracy

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Rifles
Don Eigler

Improving accuracy

Post by Don Eigler »

The challenge I face is to tighten up the groups I achieve when firing my Rolling Block. I thought maybe the readers of this forum might be able to offer suggestions about what to try next. Here’s the story.

My RB is a Type 1, so-called “transformed,” Military gun. It was re-barreled in Belgium sometime between 1877 and 1892. The Belgian made barrel is 35 3/16” long, 5 lands, roughly 21:1 twist and the bottom side of the barrel is stamped with the number 10.6, which, to the best of my knowledge, indicates that the caliber is .43 Spanish. The inside of the barrel shows some pitting or wear. I don’t know whether to call it light, medium or heavy pitting/wear as I have no experience that allows me to make such a judgement. For what it’s worth, the outside of the barrel is in near perfect shape (comparing to images in George Layman’s book).

I did two chamber castings, a muzzle casting and I slugged the bore. I measured the groove-to-groove dimension using a 108 degree V-anvil micrometer. The slug measured 0.4525”, the muzzle cast measured 0.4522”, and the chamber cast measured 0.4557” (all groove-to-groove dimensions). Many of you may now be asking yourself whether my RB is a .43 Spanish that got converted into a .43 Reformado. The answer is no. I’ve test fit Reformado cartridges and they do not fit. The chamber has a bottleneck that is much more pronounced than the nearly straight sides of a Reformado cartridge.