New Guy - New Smoot - Rod Removal Question

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Pistols
Andylit

New Guy - New Smoot - Rod Removal Question

Post by Andylit »

Hello to the group. I am new to this arena and to Remington revolvers.

I purchased a #3 .38 Colt Short with the birdhead grip. Near perfect working condition. Smooth, locks up tight, no sticking or slop at any point. Nickle is in great shape on the frame, very good on the barrel and spotty on the cylinder. Black grips have no visible wear, checkering is perfect. Overall is 60%-80%. #13501 stamped on the frame under the cylinder.

Gotta love local gunshows.

As I do with all new purchases I immediately tore it down to give it a total cleaning. I am flummoxed on how to remove the ejector/cylinder rod assembly. I got the ejector rod out easily but am stuck beyond that point. I tapped out the pin at the front of the barrel to no avail.

I've been looking at part diagrams and just cannot see how to remove the spring and cylinder rod. Short of removing the barrel from the frame it seems to be impossible. The pin at the front seems to be irrelevant.

I have to be missing something here.

Help, please.
billt

Re: New Guy - New Smoot - Rod Removal Question

Post by billt »

Hello Andylit,