black powder question

Topics related to Pre - 1898 Remington Rifles
cfreeman

black powder question

Post by cfreeman »

I'm new to black powder shooting and I was wondering what powder do you all use in your cartridges. Do you use any black powder substitute, what works best for you? Thanks for your replies.
rudybolla

Re: black powder question

Post by rudybolla »

For .40 cal. and above I use GOEX (real BP) FFG and below .40 I use FFFG. Never liked subs much.
vulture

Post by vulture »

When I'm loading any of my black powder rounds I also prefer using the real stuff. Some claim the subs are easier to clean up after but having shot black powder rifles and handguns for many years now I don't mind the cleanup, my wife doesn't care for the stink in her kitchen during the Winter when I can't get outside to do my cleaning, but hey a little stink won't kill her.
Yellowhouse

Post by Yellowhouse »

You didn't say what caliber but Fg often proves to be as accurate if not more so and is a heckuva lot easier on the shoulder.
cfreeman

Post by cfreeman »

Sorry it's a .40 cal
stanforth

Post by stanforth »

I shoot Rolling Blocks in 2 calibres. 43 Egyptian and 12.7X44R Swedish.
I have used Nitro, Pyrodex and Black powder.
The rolling block has to be the easiest rifle in the world to 'boil out' so that leaves nitro out.
Black Powder is the real deal. Smells nice to./
Pyrodex rots brass cartridge cases and with the cost of them over here in the UK that is out.
So..... It was made for Black Powder and that is what I use. Usually FFG as it gives a satisfying kick without spoiling acquarcy.

Flash.... Bang... Now smell the smoke....
oldreliable45120

Post by oldreliable45120 »