Reloading Question

Topics related to Post - 1898 Remington Rifles
CWarmouth

Reloading Question

Post by CWarmouth »

I am new at reloading. I have been being mentored by a retired guy who has been reloading for many, many years although mostly handgun stuff. Anyway, we reloaded a bunch of 25 Remington brass with light loads and 60 gr. bullets for my son to plink with. Some of the brass is vintage original brass, some is reformed Buffalo Arms 30 Rem brass, and some is resized Qual-Cart 30 Rem Brass. When I went to chamber them, most of them chambered with difficulty and stuck during extraction. I took them back to my friend's house and he put them in the press with the bullet and powder still in them and ran them through again. Is that OK? For some reason, the bottom 1/4 of the shell had not gotten resized. I don't understand why. He also did not think that crimping them was necessary.

Another problem we encountered was that the shoulders on the Qual-Cart brass collapsed and the neck got pushed down into the shell. After two of those, we quit trying to resize them, and just did the original brass. I don't understand why that happened. He did spray the entire shell with One Shot Lube. Could that be why? The manuals I have say to keep lube off the shoulders and neck.

Finally, one more question... I thought we ought to pull the bullets and powder on the Qual-Cart and Buffalo Arms ammo, resize the shell again, and then reload. He said that wasn't necessary and to just manually chamber them and shoot them one at a time. What do you think about that?