Two new to me 1900s purchased, adding to the info base

Topics related to Post - 1898 Remington Shotguns
flintlockshooter

Two new to me 1900s purchased, adding to the info base

Post by flintlockshooter »

I'm new to the 1900 world, but shooting muzzloader shotguns for - well - quite a while. I have been reading many of the posts here and want to add my two to the knowledge base, and ask a few questions. Thanks to Researcher for a lot of the knowledge I have gleaned so far. I'm looking into getting the Semmer book for the library.

First is serial # 317956 on the trigger guard, and matching numbers on the forend. Fully checkered safety. Barrels are marked //KD and a P on each. 30" flat rib, I don't see any stampings as have been described for the xxx/511 on this one. The were choke gauged as F/M by the seller, and if I can find my mic I'll post the actual measurements ( something is always lost in the garage ). Ivory bead on front, and the nub of what would have been a center bead. I have read posts that a ivory center bead was not unknown, so this one may have had one. Would a ivory be correct to have replaced?
Extraordinary shape, Damascus is gorgeous for a 1901 or so vintage piece. Has one minor spot where it would have set in a rack and grew a few spots, cosmetic only, and they seem to have been oiled out well.
Barrels don't "ring" very well, but are bright and shiny with no hint I can see of pits. I was told the measured as 2 3/4, a empty shell drops in flush.
The only issue I have with this one is - when I take off the forend the extractor ears pop forward, and I have to push them back to get it back on - minor issue but would be interested in any thoughts. My poor plastic table is getting dented.

Number is is the gem of the two